Pet Peeves When It Comes to Sports Fans

If you’re a human being, you have pet peeves. It’s just a natural way of life. Whether it’s someone who chews with their mouth open or someone who cannot use proper grammar, there’s always things that just annoy you to your core. Being a sports fan is no different. There are things that sports fans do that absolutely grind my gears.

Here are a few things that I simply cannot stand:

Learn the Rules Before You Complain

This is, by far, the most annoying thing any sports fan can do. It happens almost every day in every sport imaginable. Complaints can vary from a call that didn’t go their way to a decision their coach made to even a trade their general manager executed. If you’re going to argue that a call was wrong or unjust then please at least know the rules of the sport. It’s beyond ridiculous when someone thinks they got screwed over but in reality they have no idea what the call actually was.

Sports fans, all of them, love to complain. They all think they know better than everyone else. Trust me, I’m the same way. Difference is, I actually know what I’m talking about when I do complain about something. If I don’t know, I shut my mouth. It really goes for all aspects of life not just sports. If you don’t know something, educate yourself. I respect a person who can admit “I don’t know” more than someone who acts like they know everything and spews complete nonsense all over the place. It’s impossible to know everything. All you have to do is take a breath, do some research and formulate an opinion. Ask someone who has strong knowledge of the situation. That way you don’t look like a fool, especially on social media.

Be Your Own Person With Your Own Thoughts

I can’t stand when someone is a virtual clone of another person. It’s okay to start liking certain things when your friends do, but don’t build your entire sports personality around other people’s interests. Be your own person. Where this really comes into play is when people are forming opinions. As I just stated, I wish people would do some research and ask around in order to become educated. The downside to that is that people will just take what they hear and spit it out verbatim. That’s not what learning and watching sports is. You’re supposed to take all these avenues of information and build your own ideas and thoughts from them. What’s the point of living your whole life based on another person’s characteristics?

Back Up Opinions With Facts

The introduction of Twitter into the world has made being a sports fan completely different. It has provided fantastic benefits like quicker breaking news and more in-depth ways to follow your favorite teams. However, it also provides a platform for people to just throw out random opinions without ever backing them up. You think a player sucks? Tell me why. You think a team should do this? What’s your reasoning for thinking that? Anybody can say anything that pops into their head, but it’s so frustrating when that opinion isn’t backed up by a statistic or example. I’m not always going to agree with your idea, but at least let it be a credible thought and not just wild conjecture.

“Draft Experts”

Unless you watch an absurd amount of collegiate competition or junior events where draft prospects are prevalent, you probably don’t know much about the players who get drafted. I can understand some serious thoughts when it comes to high profile prospects near the top of the draft, but some fans are just never happy with who their team selects. What good is it to complain about a player your team drafts in the fourth round when you’ve never even heard of them? Sure maybe you wanted another player, but you have no idea how that player is going to pan out. Heck, even the guys who’ve been scouting the players for years don’t know. Just let it play out and then you can look back in a few years and see if it really was as bad of a pick as you thought it was.

You’re Really Wearing That Jersey???

It is so annoying when you go to a game and the person in front of you is wearing that jersey. The player that you simply cannot stand and you wonder how on Earth they can even bring themselves to look at it never mind actually wearing it to the game. As a Devils fan, every time I see an Ilya Kovalchuk jersey in the crowd I want to puke. Now, I completely get that some people can’t afford new jerseys and maybe it’s the only one they own. I don’t want to tell you not to wear what you spent a lot of money on, but it just hurts seeing them. If it’s your only option, I’ll live with it. If you have five other jerseys in your closet and you choose to wear that one, you’re a jerk.

Creepy Crazy Player Obessions

We all have certain players and athletes that we love more than others. For me it’s hands down Travis Zajac. He is easily my favorite player in sports. I’ve never met a sports fan that didn’t have at least one player they admired on a different level than the rest. However, some fans take their “admiration” to another level. Some fans are just outright creepy with their lovefest for a player. All these people tweet about is that certain player no matter what. It’s the only gear they wear even when that player isn’t even relevant to the game. They don’t just love the player, they’re genuinely in love with them. It’s just weird, man.

 

About David Berger

I'm a 24-year-old sports fanatic that wanted to get back into writing. I wrote for a year at Pucks and Pitchforks covering the New Jersey Devils and really enjoyed my time. Baseball and hockey are my specialties, but I love all sports. I hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Editorial. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

